Green Glass Sea series

The Green Glass Sea

Viking, New York, 2006

It’s 1943, and eleven-year-old Dewey Kerrigan is en route to New Mexico to live with her mathematician father. Soon she arrives at a town that, officially, doesn’t exist. It is called Los Alamos, and it is abuzz with activity, as scientists and mathematicians from all over America and Europe work on the biggest secret of all–“the gadget.” None of them–not J. Robert Oppenheimer, the director of the Manhattan Project; not the mathematicians and scientists; and least of all, Dewey–know how much “the gadget” is about to change their lives.

Read More

White Sands, Red Menace

Viking, New York, 2008

It’s 1946. World War II is over, ended by the atomic bomb that Dewey Kerrigan?s and Suze Gordon’s scientist parents helped build. At the White Sands Missile Range, Phil Gordon is working on rockets that will someday go to the moon; at home, Terry Gordon is part of the scientists’ movement against the Bomb. Meanwhile, Dewey and her “sister,” Suze, share secrets, art, and science as they adjust to junior high in an isolated desert town. Then, like a different kind of dropped bomb, Dewey’s long-lost mother, Rita Gallucci, reappears in their lives. And she wants to take her daughter away.

Read More